Sensei


Soke William Harp
In remembrance

Sensei William Harp

 

 

From my April 12, 2012 posting – Ken Ai – Reflections of a Sunday morn

 

I.
Silver edge cuts now
Pale green leaves flash in sun light
Balanced blade in my hand

II.
Breath is slow and sure
Shoulders relaxed, blade moving
Now raised, tip falls up

III.
Three bows – aching knees
Sunday morning trilogy
Three draws – center – rise

IV.
Connect life and air,
Breathing in  – the sword rises
Breathing out – it falls

Sensei was a great mentor and friend.  I am totally in awe of his compassion, his teaching,  and his life.   Sensei, you will be missed and will always be in my heart.

About rhudgins

I have recently retired and moved to the mid-west. We are learning how to live with relatives near by and are having fun living by Old Man River. I enjoy Haiku and photography and weaving. I have black belt in Kenai, and Isshinryu karate From Harp Karate in Rochester, NY.
Image | This entry was posted in death, family, Haiku, Karate, love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sensei

  1. rhudgins says:

    Reblogged this on New Adventures – On & On and commented:

    A year ago on January 6, Sensei William Harp died. He was one of the most important men in my life. My Sensei. My heart still aches from his absence, so I am once again sharing these reflections.

  2. Gerri Smith says:

    This is a beautiful tribute to Sensei Harp. I wasn’t a member but was influenced through my son’s association with this wonderful man. My son also learned so much due to his close, close friendship with Sensei. The most important, I believe, is loyalty. My son, Ken Smith, is loyal to the Harp family, the Dojo and especially to Sensei William Harp’s vision of what the Dojo should mean and do for it’s members now and in the future. Rest In Peace Sensei Harp. Your influence on the lives you have touched will be a lasting tribute to your selflessness and vision.

Leave a Reply

