The Aftermath or the Next Day


snow geese moreMorning came early as it usually does.  Dog kisses wet on my nose tempered with small whimpers.  The sky is dark – sun rise is 2 hours away.   Winter solstice has passed, but the sun moves in stately progress toward its northern edge.

Clothing assembled and finally on, coffee gone,  coat, hat and gloves,  flash light,  where is the leash – red flasher on – “Hold still, it was your idea to go for a walk this early,” I grumble, halter and leash in my hands.   We are soon out the door and moving down the driveway.  It is too warm for the day after Christmas – the gloves stay in my pockets and coat unzipped.   Our neighborhood is quiet – no wind, few cars,  lights shine out of the windows in an occasional house.  Holiday lights are sleeping off the ecstasy of the last few days.  Twenty minutes and a mile later we are now home again.

The sun hides behind the grey rolling clouds this morning.  A sulky morning, given to  thoughts of winter to come, chores to complete.  Work beckons, I head to the office to spend a long day answering phone calls,  hopefully someone will call and talk to me.   It is a morning to travel back roads and I drive south in Pinnacle Road.  It is a road of churches – a church of the world,   a Hindu temple, a Presbyterian one, a Korean one.  My church, I find is an open field, edged by rough trees and a Norther Harrier (Circus cyanide) soaring through the trees or a view of the office pond filled with Canada Geese (Branta canadensis) and Snow Geese (Chen caerulescens).  They gather, launch from the pond in great goose discourse.  I smile, the day awaits!

About rhudgins

I have recently retired and moved to the mid-west. We are learning how to live with relatives near by and are having fun living by Old Man River. I enjoy Haiku and photography and weaving. I have black belt in Kenai, and Isshinryu karate From Harp Karate in Rochester, NY.
This entry was posted in Birds, General comments, Images, Jobs, Seasons, sunrise and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

