Waves of Grass


Why do birds get up so ….. early?  Yesterday, I was up at 5 am so I could help with a Pheasant triangulation experiment.  Two cups of coffee and a 40 minute drive later, I think I was in heaven.  Well, if not heaven some place close to it for  a warm June morning.   My companions and I walked through a grass field –  pausing for 15 to 20 minute intervals to listen for the sounds of Ring-necked Pheasant (Phasianus colchicus).  Pheasants arrived in the  United States from Asia and are a popular game bird.  Cornell’s web site “All About Birds” has a great description and pictures (http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Ring-necked_Pheasant/id).

Yesterday morning was great.  There was a mild breeze to keep me comfortable.  The song birds were gossiping in the hedge rows.  Crowish discussions could be heard from the nearby trees.  Bees and crickets threw in their opinions as we walked through the field.   The chest high grasses tickled the back of my arms as I stood quietly straining to hear the “koork-KOK” from male Pheasants.    Wait … was that it?   No?  Ok,  move another 50 meters into the field.

What a wonderful way to spend the morning!

Waves of Grass © 2012 R.M.Hudgins

About rhudgins

I have recently retired and moved to the mid-west. We are learning how to live with relatives near by and are having fun living by Old Man River. I enjoy Haiku and photography and weaving. I have black belt in Kenai, and Isshinryu karate From Harp Karate in Rochester, NY.
This entry was posted in Birds, General comments, Hunting, Images, Jobs, sunrise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waves of Grass

  1. Klimatyzacja says:

    I’m impressed, I must say. Actually hardly ever do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not enough individuals are speaking intelligently about. I am very joyful that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something regarding this.
    Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you However I’m experiencing concern with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting similar rss downside? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx
    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait ..

  2. Zyrandole says:

    This is the suitable blog for anybody who needs to find out about this topic. You understand so much its virtually onerous to argue with you (not that I really would need…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, just great!
    Aw, this was a very nice post. In thought I would like to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and precise effort to make a very good article… however what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means appear to get something done.

  3. Spot on with this write-up, I truly assume this web site needs rather more consideration. I’ll in all probability be again to read way more, thanks for that info.
    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So good to find any individual with some authentic ideas on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this web site is one thing that is wanted on the net, somebody with a bit of originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!
    I’d must verify with you here. Which isn’t one thing I usually do! I take pleasure in studying a put up that can make folks think. Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

Leave a Reply

