Waiting


Cherry Blossoms

There are times I believe I have patience, and there are times I want to curl up in a ball and tell the world to get it over with — I’m tired of waiting.  I had a phone interview for a great job last week.  At the end they said they would be making their decision this week.  Arhh.. its Wednesday already.   I have carried my cell phone with me everywhere – even into the shower.  I check my e-mail constantly.  My focus is gone.  I am having trouble reading any thing that has more than 2 sentences.

As for patience – here is one of my favorite poems by John Burroughs.

Waiting

Serene, I fold my hands and wait,
Nor care for wind, nor tide, nor sea;
I rave no more ‘gainst time or fate,
For lo! my own shall come to me.

I stay my haste, I make delays,
For what avails this eager pace?
I stand amid the eternal ways,
And what is mine shall know my face.

Asleep, awake, by night or day,
The friends I seek are seeking me;
No wind can drive my bark astray,
Nor change the tide of destiny.

What matter if I stand alone?
I wait with joy the coming years;
My heart shall reap where it hath sown,
And garner up its fruit of tears.

The waters know their own and draw
The brook that springs in yonder height;
So flows the good with equal law
Unto the soul of pure delight.The stars come nightly to the sky;
The tidal wave unto the sea;
Nor time, nor space, nor deep, nor high,
Can keep my own away from me.

 

And I move on,  thanks for letting me whine!
About rhudgins

I have recently retired and moved to the mid-west. We are learning how to live with relatives near by and are having fun living by Old Man River. I enjoy Haiku and photography and weaving. I have black belt in Kenai, and Isshinryu karate From Harp Karate in Rochester, NY.
This entry was posted in General comments, Jobs, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

